Environmental Law Australia

State and Territory environmental law

The 6 States and 2 mainland Territories in Australia play a major role in the Australian environmental legal system.

This part looks at the main pieces of the environmental legal system in:

  • Queensland
  • New South Wales
  • Victoria
  • Tasmania
  • South Australia
  • Western Australia
  • Northern Territory
  • Australian Capital Territory

The ∼560 local governments in Australia are created under State and Territory laws and perform important roles in the administration of these laws, particularly for planning issues.

Local governments are, therefore, considered in this level of the environmental legal system here.